To conclude…

by Chris F

I started this last October, thinking I could make a boardgame to illustrate a concept which would teach people about OpenStreetMap and encourage them to explore and use OSM because it’s awesome to be a cartographer.

8 months later, I believe I have something that’s good. A game that makes people be intrigued about where the data from their maps comes from. A game that they play and have fun. A game that helps them understand the place around them better and maybe allows them to make some discoveries.

I’ve added to my game design knowledge, taking some techniques from the field of gamification which I’ve used in the game, gamification techniques such as missions and dividing information into manageable chunks (taking out the PoI tags one at a time), as well as to a degree points and badges (most PoIs overall, most PoIs in ORANGE region etc.). What I hope to have done with this game is created a fun game, a game that gives players meaningful choices to make, as well as keeping a bit of randomness and mistery in it.

It’s been an amazing journey, and I think I’ve learned a lot. I couldn’t have done it without the support of my tutors, especially Rob who had to go through playtests with me, Maria, who had to listen to me complain about not having enough time while she also didn’t have time for her dissertation, the wonderful people at ITO who helped me by giving me the software and support needed to produce the board, all my playtesters and the people at Creative Board Gaming who didn’t complain about playing an unfinished game and have given me tons of good ideas, my parents who didn’t complain that the first thing I did in the morning and the last thing I did before I went to sleep was work on my dissertation over the past week, and the amazing OpenStreetMap community without whom any of this would not be possible.

Thank you all.

Chris F.

