Playtest and feedback on iteration six

by Chris F

I’ve tested the game with 4 players today. As a famous company would say, they were a multicultural team of various faiths and beliefs. Alexandra was part of them, but so was an economist, a DnD dungeon master and a photographer.They played the game I’m currently working on seemed to enjoy themselves quite a lot. They also had some feedback for me, which I will take into account for doing the last iteration of this game before submission. Let’s see what they thought.

IMG_20140612_190936

First, I think it should be said that from all the playtests that I’ve done till now, the game is definitely more enjoyable the more players there are. I’ve never seen players laugh while they were reading the rules of another game, except maybe with Munchkin. That was really nice to see.

IMG_20140612_200938

IMG_20140612_200945

Once the game started, things got heated pretty soon, with players trying to snatch cards from other players by going to the same PoI hex, people getting quite vexed that they had the same choice 6 times in a row at Rock Paper Scissors or that they managed to roll an even number on the die during their first turn. The dynamics were very nice between these players, helping each other understand the rules without needing me to step in and explain them, and they understood them very well.

At the end of the game they came up with a few suggestions that I will explore over the next couple of blog posts, but overall they wanted me to know they had a lot of fun and would also love to play the game with Bucharest instead of Ipswich, just to see what’s around that they don’t know about. I’d say that this playtest was a real success.

For ease of use, we put all the challenge tokens into a bowl.

For ease of use, we put all the challenge tokens into a bowl.

Two post boxes, one of which almost complete, one fast food, one bank and a bicycle parking. Not bad for turn 8.

Two post boxes, one of which almost complete, one fast food, one bank and a bicycle parking. Not bad for turn 8.

IMG_20140612_182744

IMG_20140612_182805

This was also the first time I’ve played with actual coloured and graphical cards, and I really like they way the PoI cards came out.

I think the game is now as finished as I can make it, considering how much time I have left till submission. Over the next few posts I will post the final iteration of the game and rules, as well as discussing the different target audience forks for the game and analyzing the overall state of the project.

Chris F.

