Gamification example: Mineral water Contrex advert

by Chris F

Another gamification example that I’ve found recently is one from an older advert for Nestle’s mineral water Contrex. This is an ad whose gamified component happened in an event in France. Here’s my take on it:

That neon goodness

That neon goodness

What really struck me when I watched this advert was the one-off-ness of it. You can do this only a few times before it becomes too expensive to sustain. You need a spot in a public plaza, all the bikes, the power for the neon lights and the rented facade of the building you’re putting the neon signs on. I see how this is doable by someone from a huge corporation such as Nestle, but is the Return on Investment of it really that big? Yes, you get people talking about your brand for a few weeks, maybe even a month, but I can’t help but see this as just a small bit in a marketing campaign, not necessarily something which has gamification at its core. On the other hand, this can stand to serve as an example of what can be done in some gyms to get people to exercise.

One of the things that I do like about this ad and example is how it encourages people to work together. You needed all the bikes to be active in order to get the shiny neon stripper to move. Extra points for the co-op instead of competitive or single-player environment.

Chris F.

